From Cannes to NZIFF: Major International Film Line-up Revealed

0
426

The New Zealand International Film Festival (NZIFF) has announced 21 films from last month’s Cannes Film Festival will screen at the festival. All the major Competition winners from Cannes are confirmed to screen.

21 films from Cannes will screen in Auckland from 20 July, and in Wellington from 28 July. Further regional dates and confirmed films will be available in the next month as each leg is scheduled.

The Square, winner of the Cannes Palme d’Or

The films announced today include In Competition titles The Square, winner of the Palme d’Or (Best Film); BPM (Beats Per Minute), winner of the Grand Prix; The Killing of a Sacred Deer, winner of Best Screenplay; Happy End from director Michael Haneke and starring Isabelle Huppert; and Loveless, winner of the Cannes Jury Prize.

“We’re still in shock at the size and quality of titles secured direct from Cannes this year – and the nerves of steel required to secure them so immediately after their World Premieres. Our programmer Sandra Reid was in Cannes to experience these films, with the world’s most demanding audiences. I believe in we’re for an exceptional year of international cinema,” says NZIFF Director Bill Gosden.

The Square, a wide-sweeping satire set in the art world will open the 49th NZIFF in Auckland on 20 July and Wellington on 28 July. Good Time starring Robert Pattison is confirmed to close both Auckland (5 August) and Wellington (13 August).

“The closing night film will send festival goers back into the real world with a shot of pure adrenaline.” says Gosden.

The 21 films announced from Cannes are:

From the In Competition selection
BPM (Beats Per Minute) https://www.nziff.co.nz/2017/film/bpm-beats-per-minute/
A Gentle Creature https://www.nziff.co.nz/2017/film/a-gentle-creature/
Good Time https://www.nziff.co.nz/2017/film/good-time/
Happy End https://www.nziff.co.nz/2017/film/happy-end/
The Killing of a Sacred Deer https://www.nziff.co.nz/2017/film/the-killing-of-a-sacred-deer/
Loveless https://www.nziff.co.nz/2017/film/loveless/
The Square https://www.nziff.co.nz/2017/film/the-square/

From Cannes Un Certain Regard
The Desert Bride https://www.nziff.co.nz/2017/film/the-desert-bride/
Western https://www.nziff.co.nz/2017/film/western/
Wind River https://www.nziff.co.nz/2017/film/wind-river/
The Workshop https://www.nziff.co.nz/2017/film/the-workshop/

From Cannes Directors’ Fortnight
I Am Not a Witch https://www.nziff.co.nz/2017/film/i-am-not-a-witch/
Let the Sunshine In https://www.nziff.co.nz/2017/film/let-the-sunshine-in/
Marlina the Murderer in Four Acts https://www.nziff.co.nz/2017/film/marlina-the-murderer-in-four-acts/
Patti Cake$ https://www.nziff.co.nz/2017/film/patti-cakes/

Cannes Special Screenings
Claire’s Camera https://www.nziff.co.nz/2017/film/claires-camera/
The Venerable W. https://www.nziff.co.nz/2017/film/the-venerable-w/

Cannes Midnight Screenings
The Merciless https://www.nziff.co.nz/2017/film/the-merciless/
A Prayer Before Dawn https://www.nziff.co.nz/2017/film/a-prayer-before-dawn/

Cannes Out of Competition
Faces Places https://www.nziff.co.nz/2017/film/faces-places/
Napalm https://www.nziff.co.nz/2017/film/napalm/
 

Three Cannes titles have previously been announced: The Beguiled (In Competition, Best Director for Sofia Coppola), Top of the Lake:China Girl (Special Screenings), and Blade of the Immortal (Midnight Screenings).

NZIFF is run by a charitable trust and encourages lively interactions between films, filmmakers and New Zealand audiences in 13 towns and cities around the country. The full NZIFF programme will be available online from Monday 26 June 7pm, and on the streets from Tuesday 27 June for Auckland and Friday 30 June for Wellington. NZIFF starts in Auckland on 20 July and in Wellington from 28 July in 2017. Further regional dates are available at nziff.co.nz.

Special events in Auckland, including Top of the Lake: China Girl and the Live Cinema performance of It with the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra, are on sale now from Ticketmaster until Wednesday 29 June. All tickets for Auckland will go on sale from Friday 30 June at 9am.